HOLY CRAP!
Manny Ramirez just tested positive for steroids. 50 game suspension.
Whoa.
At least he's not on the Red Sox anymore... I can shake my head at his stupidity without worrying about my team. I so prefer Jason Bay anyways.
Thursday, May 7, 2009
Sunday, May 3, 2009
Get a clue!
Ok... the Sox were on a HUGE streak. 11 straight wins. Awesome, right? Now, all these games were won with Nick Green doing service at shortstop while Jed Lowrie and Julio Lugo were on the DL. So... Lugo gets better, and they pretty much immediately stick him back into the line-up. His first game back, they lose and the streak ends. Fine, they had to lose a game eventually, right? Well, Green plays the next game, and they win. Lugo plays the next two games, and they lose them both. Green plays the next game, and they win. Lugo plays today, and they lose.
Notice the pattern here?
I had this thought after the 2nd game, but thought I'd hold onto it until I had a bigger sample size. I think that's a pretty good sample size... 0-4 with Lugo, 2-0 with Green after Lugo's return.
Now, I'm not saying that Green is necessarily a better shortstop OR hitter than Lugo. He has, however, been consistent. He has made errors, but they have not cost the Sox games. His hitting has been better than most of the other Sox hitters. The thing I am arguing here is that there is obviously something Green brings to the table that is above what Lugo brings. What is it? I dunno... team chemistry or something of that sort.
Whatever it is, Francona is a fool if he continues playing Lugo while this trend is happening. I never thought I'd have a bad word to say about Tito, but this is getting ridiculous. I don't care how much money Lugo is getting paid. If they can't win when he plays, then he can get paid for riding the bench.
I did not even get that upset over the loss today, when usually I scream and stomp around all over the place. Why? Because as soon as I saw Lugo in the line-up, I knew what would happen.
Seriously.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)